Prairieview School Educator Earns Prestigious National Teaching Award

Horace Mann presented Kerisa Baedke, a Spanish teacher at Prairieview School with a crystal owl and a celebration. Baedke is one of only five recipients nationwide to receive the NEA Foundation’s prestigious 2020 Horace Mann Award for Teaching Excellence, and the first-ever from Iowa.  Baedke will travel to Washington, D.C. in February to receive the award and $10,000 at the NEA Foundation Gala. 

Baedke received the Iowa State Education Association’s (ISEA) Excellence in Education Award (ISAE) award this past summer.