Waukee Girls Win 7th State Track Title, Boys Place Third, Correll Repeats As Wheelchair State Champ

Waukee High School’s Girls and Boys Track teams enjoyed success at the State Track Meet held May 16-18 at Drake Stadium. After strong performances at the Drake Relays both the girls and boys won State Qualifying Meet Championships and combined to qualify a total of 34 events to the state meet.

The girls’ team won their 4th state championship in a row and 7th since 2009. The Warriors scored in 12 of 19 events and crowned state champions in four events. Two relay wins and two individual event champions highlighted the weekend for the girls. Sophomore Layanna Green got the Warriors off to a quick start on Thursday winning the High Jump with a jump of 5’6”. On Friday, Kat Moody defended her Shot Put title, winning with a throw of 46’4.75”. The 4×200 relay team of Ainsley Schlicher, Kaliyah Perry, Delaney Taylor and Natalie Harris won in a school record time of 1:41.00. On Saturday, a shuttle hurdle relay win all but clinched the team title. The team of Janjay Peters, Zoey Stark, Addie Drees and Natalie Harris won the shuttle for the third year in a row and 7th time in school history. The Warriors scored 81.33 points to outdistance runner up Cedar Falls with 64.

The boys’ team finished third in the team standings, behind WDM Valley and Ames, with 60 points. It was Waukee’s eight straight top 5 finish at the state meet. Relays were the strength all season long for the boys. After winning team relay championships at both the Kansas and Drake Relays, Waukee placed in the top 4 in four relays at the state meet, highlighted by a state championship in the 4×400 relay. The team of Sam Yeaway, Kahlil Hicks-Jumper, Zach Eaton and Aaron Smith blazed to a win in the meet’s final event in a time of 3:14.81. It was the second-fastest 4×400 ever run by a team from the state of Iowa. Waukee also picked up second place finishes from Sam Yeaway in the 400m Dash and from the Sprint Medley and Distance Medley Relay teams.

Waukee’s Correll Repeats As Wheelchair State Champ

Sophomore Evan Correll won three events and placed second in another to lead Waukee to the 2019 Wheelchair State Championship at Drake Stadium last weekend. Correll won the 100m, 200m, and 400m wheelchair events and placed second in the 800m. His 100-meter clocking of 17.70 broke the State Meet and All Time Iowa Record of 17.81 set by E.J. Runyan in 2000. Waukee’s point total of 38 was enough to defeat runner up Northwood Kensett by 4 points.

Congratulations on an outstanding season!

Girls Placewinners

High Jump: Layanna Green, 1st – 5’6”

Shot Put: Kat Moody, 1st – 46’4.75”

4x200m Relay: Schlicher, Perry, Taylor, Harris, 1st – 1:41.00

Shuttle Hurdle: Peters, Stark, Drees, Harris, 1st – 1:03.11

4x100m Relay: Harris, Emma Schossow, Perry, Taylor, 2nd – 48.95

400m Hurdles: Kate Bannister, 3rd – 1:06.70

4x800m Relay: Schaffer, M.Bannister, Megan Groathouse, Caraway, 3rd – 9:23.02

Distance Medley: Sehansa Karunitalaka, Schossow, Caraway, Schaffer, 5th – 4:09.25

800m Run: Jessica Caraway, 5th – 2:14.41

800m Run: Sydney Schaffer, 7th – 2:15.77

4x400m Relay: Taylor, Groathouse, Peters, Caraway, 7th – 3:59.97

Long Jump: Isabella Scheid, 8th – 16’9”

High Jump: Carly Boss, 8th – 5′

Boys Placewinners

4x400m Relay: Yeaway, Hicks-Jumper, Eaton, Smith, 1st – 3:14.81

400m Dash: Sam Yeaway, 2nd – 48.04

Sprint Medley: Hicks-Jumper, Kyle Witte, Smith, Yeaway, 2nd – 1:31.45

Distance Medley: Hicks-Jumper, Witte, Yeaway, Eaton, 2nd – 3:28.66

1600m Run: Travis Loecke, 3rd – 4:24.72

Discus: Mason Hale, 4th – 157’7”

4x800m Relay: Cade Simpson, Eaton, Braden Sankot, Moe Smith, 4th – 7:54.88

400m Dash: Aaron Smith, 5th – 48.24

800m Run: Zach Eaton, 5th – 1:56.26

200m Dash: Aaron Smith, 7th – 22.70